What Does God Look Like To You?

When I was younger I always wanted to know what God looked like.  In the show “Moses” it showed God standing in front of a burning tree.  This scared me.  In Sunday School, I asked them what God looked like?  “He can be anything you want him to be,” she said.

I wanted God to be real.  I found a book called “God on a Harley.”  Yes, that’s right God riding a Harley.  The book is about a tormented woman who is in need of help and advice and meets God in a bar.  While I was reading, I pictured God in black leather   chaps, leather jacket, leather books and long black hair riding a Harley.

Today, I know that God can be anything or anyone you want him to be. I’ve learned that God’s spirit will work through someone else to let you know that he is watching you, and let you know everything will be alright.  I believe this. Why?  Because the unexplained has happened to me several times. 

At a depressing time in my life, I was having to give myself  injections of a drug that made me very ill.  I could hardly get out of bed and I felt life was getting shorter. I pushed myself to go to the library to read up on my disease when a black man approached me.  He laid his hand on my shoulder and said (shuddering), “You are in despair, I know.  God’s prayers are with you, and said that you’ll find your answesr soon and will be better soon.”  I was so amazed that chills ran up and down my body.  I told him thank you and walked away.

This may all sound wild, but it was true.   The words he said might have been a little different.  I just know that he was right- I’m better and life looks a little bit brighter.  Thank you God.

What does God look like to you?  I would love to hear.

Leave a Reply

